Hexapolis map
The Dorian Hexapolis (six cities) in Caria embraced the cities of Camirus, Lindus, Ialysus, Cos, Cnidus and Halicarnassus.
The cult center of the league was the Temple of Triopian Apollo at Deveboynu near Cnidus. Meeting here periodically, the league discussed matters concerning economy and politics. Festivals were also held in honor of Apollo.

[Index] [Next] [Last]


 Copyright ©1998-2003 Roy George